Cars

Supercar Rental CONT. Where do I go now?

Continuing from my post last week about Supercar rental:

Supercar Rental Where to?

So You’ve rented the supercar or at the very least are considering it… If you’ve already rented it I hope you’ve done so somewhere exciting with good roads and no speed limits!

If not then Perhaps I can persuade you to rent abroad not in the UK, so some background: I spent a year of my life living and studying in southern Germany (in a small town called Worms am Rhine) while there as I was in the heart of Europe I went on several road/rail trips as you do. Having driven in many countries I can safely say that driving in Germany and most of Europe for that matter for more pleasurable than driving in the UK, not sure if that is because on the highways of Europe, drivers tend to be more disciplined and tend not to hog the lanes as much as over here.

The other thing about driving in Germany is that the managed motorway system (that is slowly coming into force in the UK currently) was introduced sometime ago and drivers obey the posted speeds without the need for the overbearing enforcement of speed cameras, although contrary to popular belief the Autobahn is not always unrestricted (if the weather is bad, its busy or theres an accident speeds are often lower than UK’s motorways). Despite this fact Germany most certainly gets a vote as a place to start your journey, at the very least the South and a blast through the blackforest (or Schwarzwald in German) from either France or car hating but beautiful (and a must drive for the scenery) Switzerland on route to München Austria and eastern Europe beyond. I can also recommend the coastal roads and countryside roads of Italy particularly in the summer.

So I have been wanting to do a grand tour for awhile and had planned out my route in my head, I decided that today I would put pen to paper(google maps to be exact PDF of tour route) heres my grand tour route: 5,172Km (3 214 miles) 60hrs 7 counties of pure driving heaven?

grand tour grand tour steps

Starting in Nice the first leg travels to Milano Via Genoa a blast along the coast followed by Italian countryside into Milano. Leg two travels from Milano to blackforest via Switzerland through the beautiful roads of Switzerland onto the fast and efficient roads of Germany to a forests and hills that make up the Schwarzwald. Leg three and blast across the autobahn stopping in Munich. Next on to Austria through Salzburg and on to Vienna winding through the mountains, valleys and lakes that make up the north of Austria. From Vienna its a quick pitstop in Bratislava and on to Budapest to see the old bridge, castle lit up at night and enjoy dinner on the Danube. Southwest we head now towards the sea with an overnight stop in Zagreb. Next we continue our trip towards the sea with a long drive to Dubrovnik via a pitstop in split. After a recovering in Dubrovnik enjoying the beaches and roman ruins we take the ferry across the Adriatic to Bari in Italy. From Bari we travel north along the Adriatic coast of Italy towards San Marino.  Finally after a pitstop in Parma it’s the home leg back to nice.

Nice coast, a nice place to start a grand tour

Nice coast, a nice place to start a grand tour

Blast through Italian countryside

Blackforest

Blackforest  – gateau anyone?

Munich an overnight stop… great for dinner and architecture

Salzburg best seen at night

Salzburg best seen at night

Vienna another imposing city

Budapest and the famous old bridge

On to Zagreb

On to split and the Adriatic coast

The fortress old town of Dubrovnik

Across the Adriatic to Bari in Italy

on to san marino

on to san marino

The final WORD….

Just do it! So I will next summer as I turn 28 I should be able to rent a beauty and I will do this route… So who is with me any one up for it?

Whats next? 

Next Cars – which car to accompany your grand tour?

 

Standard

One thought on “Supercar Rental CONT. Where do I go now?

  1. Pingback: Supercar rental Cont: which car to accompany your grand tour? | catchers travels

Leave a comment